Public Event on


SAAO Telescopes on the Sutherland Site

Telescope Manufacturer Instrument Website/Link
SALT SALT Foundation Spectrograph, CCD cameras
1.9m Grubb Parsons Spectrographs, CCD Cameras, Polarimeter 1.9m info
1.0m Grubb Parsons CCD cameras 1.0m info
Lesedi APM-Telescopes CCD cameras, spectrograph coming soon Lesedi info
IRSF Nishimura Co. Infrared survey facility, Sirius IR camera
ACT SAAO Automatic photometric telescope, photometer

Hosted Research Telescopes

MeerLICHT – the Dutch translation for ‘more light’ – is an astronomical project which aims to provide a simultaneous, real-time optical view of the radio (transient) sky as observed by MeerKAT, South Africa’s SKA precursor radio telescope array. As such, it provides a uniquely broad contemporaneous view of the southern skies through multiple windows of the electromagnetic spectrum.

BiSON – Birmingham Solar Oscillations Network Sutherland station. A cooperative programme between SAAO and Birmingham University, UK. This is one of six networked solar telescopes spread around the world which studies the 5-minute oscillations of the Sun.

KELT-South is a small scientific telescope that is designed to detect transiting extrasolar planets.

KMTNet (Korea Microlensing Telescope Network) is a Korean Astronomy and Space Science Institute (KASI) network of wide-field photometric survey system consisting of three identical 1.6-m telescopes  in the southern hemisphere (Chile, South Africa, and Australia).  The network’s main scientific goal is to discover earth-mass planets  using gravitational microlensing technique.

LCO (Las Cumbres Observatory) is a private operating foundation, building and operating a global network of telescopes for professional research and citizen investigations. Sutherland is the location of three 1-metre telescopes.

MASTER-SAAO is one of the Mobile Astronomical System of the TElescope-Robots Network (MASTER-Net) global transient alert system.

MONET is a MOnitoring NEtwork of Telescopes; initiated and coordinated by the University of Gottingen (Germany). The Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach Foundation has awarded scientists at the University of Gottingen’s Observatory up to 1,3 million Euros for the construction of two internet-operated telescopes with 1.2-m mirror diameters (f/7). The two fully automatic robotic telescopes will be located at the observatory sites of partner institutions in Texas and South Africa.

Solaris is a Polish scientific initiative to open a new frontier in the hunt for extrasolar planets. Solaris-1 and Solaris-2 is part of a global network of four 0.5-m robotic telescopes.

SuperWASP-South is the Wide Angle Search for Planets coordinated by Keele University’s Astrophysics Group.